Ape Goes to the Stop the Smart Meter Rally June 1, 2011

BC Hydro’s plan to spend at least $1 billion to replace our current electricity meters is making people angry and they are questioning why the rush, and why no debate.

People will be travelling from all over the area to demonstrate opposition to the Hydro plan at the Legislature, Wed. June1, at 12 noon.

At the same time, John Horgan, MLA, Energy Health Critic, and Sue Hammel, MLA, are presenting petitions with hundreds of signatures to the Legislative Assembly demanding a halt to the “Smartmetering and Infrastructure” program, before the session ends on Thursday June 2nd.

The purpose is to bring to the attention of government and the public the many deficiencies in the plan as presented. Organizers stress that these meters are not “green” as originally claimed, nor do they save any energy, or money for customers and the province, while in fact the reverse is true in that they waste energy – and our money – in order to function.

Liked it? Take a second to support Chris Cook and Gorilla Radion on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, broad/webcasting since 1999. The show is archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. The GR blog is at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.com, and you can find and support the program at GRadio.Substack.com. Financial support is also possible through the Patreon site: https://www.patreon.com/PacificFreePress. He's too the past contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, (now defunct) and tweets at @paciffreepress. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Denis Halliday, Julia Butterfly Hill, Sam Husseini, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Stefania Maurizi, Greg Palast, Michael Parenti, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, Vandana Shiva, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *