Gorilla Radio with Chris Cook, Dave Lindorff, Don Staniford, Janine Bandcroft Feb 17, 2014

Though we here in the Garden City have become well-used to spending February counting daffodil blooms, (and gleefully rubbing that pursuit in the faces of Canada’s still winter-bound eastern denizens) the weather outside in Victoria lately is pretty frightful. But, looking around the World, we can still count ourselves lucky.

A hundred years’ flood in Britain, an unprecedented number of snow and ice storms along the eastern seaboard, and what is shaping up to perhaps be a millennial drought in California and other parts of America’s South West must finally confirm to even the most obdurate Climate Change deniers: the times they are truly a-changin’. Right?

Dave Lindorff is an award-winning investigative reporter, long-time muckraker, and founder of the online news site, ThisCan’tBeHappening.net.

Dave’s writing regularly appears online at Counterpunch.org and has also appeared in mainstream interests like BusinessWeek, the Nation, Extra! and Rolling Stone magazine. Lindorff is author of the books, ‘This Can’t Be Happening! Resisting the Disintegration of American Democracy,’ ‘Marketplace Medicine: The Rise of the For Profit Hospital Chains,’ ‘Killing Time: An Investigation into the Death Row Case of Mumia Abu-Jamal,’ and co-authored with Barbara Olshansky ‘The Case for Impeachment: Legal Arguments for Removing President George W. Bush’.

Dave Lindorff is now collaborating with one of America’s preeminent online investigative journalism sites, WhoWhatWhy, the latest fruits of that collaboration being a three-part series on Climate Change.

Dave Lindorff in the first half.

And; last week, Canada’s Supreme Court “dismissed with costs” Don Staniford et al’s leave for appeal of the BC Court of Appeal decision in their defense against Mainstream Canada (a division of EWOS Canada Limited.

Don Staniford is the award winning author and environmental campaigner who has taken on Norway’s fish farm industry, and led a boisterous on-line crusade against its subsidiaries here in British Columbia. Staniford is a recipient of the Roderick Haig Brown regional prize for co-authoring, with Alexandra Morton and Stephen Hume, ‘A Stain Upon the Sea,’ and won too the British Environmental Media Award in 2002. He’s founder of the websites, Global Alliance Against Industrial Aquaculture, or GAAIA and SalmonFarmingKills.com.

Don Staniford and something smelling rotten in Canada’s highest courts in the second half.

And; Victoria Street Newz publisher and CFUV Radio broadcaster, Janine Bandcroft will join us at the bottom of the hour to bring us up to speed with some of what’s good to do in and around Victoria, and beyond. But first, Dave Lindorff and sometimes needing a weatherman to know which way the wind is blowing.

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, airing live every Monday, 5-6pm Pacific Time. In Victoria at 101.9FM, and on the internet at: http://cfuv.uvic.ca. He also serves as a contributing editor to the web news site, http://www.pacificfreepress.com. Check out the GR blog at: http://gorillaradioblog.blogspot.ca/

Liked it? Take a second to support Chris Cook and Gorilla Radion on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Author: Chris Cook

Chris Cook hosts Gorilla Radio, broad/webcasting since 1999. The show is archived at: www.gorilla-radio.com. The GR blog is at: gorillaradioblog.blogspot.com, and you can find and support the program at GRadio.Substack.com. Financial support is also possible through the Patreon site: https://www.patreon.com/PacificFreePress. He's too the past contributing editor to the web news site, www.pacificfreepress.com, (now defunct) and tweets at @paciffreepress. G-Radio is dedicated to social justice, the environment, community, and providing a forum for people and issues not covered in the corporate media. Some past guests include: M. Shahid Alam, Joel Bakan, Maude Barlow, Ramzy Baroud, David Barsamian, William Blum, Luciana Bohne, Helen Caldicott, Noam Chomsky, Paul Cienfuegos, Yves Engler, Laura Flanders, Denis Halliday, Julia Butterfly Hill, Sam Husseini, Robert Jensen, Dahr Jamail, Chalmers Johnson, Malalai Joya, Kathy Kelly, Ingmar Lee, Dave Lindorff, Andrew Gavin Marshall, Stefania Maurizi, Greg Palast, Michael Parenti, John Pilger, Kevin Pina, Ted Rall, Paul Craig Roberts, John Ross, David Rovics, Joan Russow, Danny Schechter, Vandana Shiva, Norman Solomon, David Swanson, Andy Worthington, Mickey Z., Howard Zinn and many others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *